Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member #

New to Nexus - a couple of questions if I can

Hi. I am ready to purchase a Nexus 7 which will accompany me to my holiday destinations instead of carrying a laptop around. Size for size it is a no brainer........but I do need it to be able to do a couple of important things which are easy to do on a laptop.

So, firstly, I am a keen photographer and video shooter and I need to be able to plug in my cameras (or cards) at the end of each day to view my pictures / movies. I would also want to dump some of it on the internal storage to free up card space. Because there hasn't seemed to be a way of doing this with the Nexus it has been stopping me from getting the N7............until recently when I heard that you can download an app from Google Play called "Nexus Media Importer" which allows the N7, via a OTG cable, to read external USB sticks and USB card holders. The article went on to say that if you needed to attach something such as a HDD that needed external power you could attach a powered USB port between the OTG cable and the peripheral.

Now, if this is genuine info then is the answer to my wish list for the N7!!! BUT.............does it work? has anyone used the app and USB (powered and un-powered) ad got a result??

It is important to me because I don't want to buy something that will not do what I need it to do.

This is the link to one of the articles regarding the attachment of peripherals to the Nexus 7 http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/ipad-and-t...us-7-50010107/

Thanks for reading and I hope there are answers out there!!

Cheers

Nigel
    Last edited by NJM; 03-03-2013 at 11:54 AM.

Twitter
    misscassyL
    Member #
    Liked
    89 times
    Hello and welcome.

I use the nexus media importer app and it does what it says

Phone
    Galaxy Note 8
    Tablet
    Nexus 10
    Member #
    Liked
    528 times

Re: New to Nexus - a couple of questions if I can