Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Lost Stereo Channel

Member #
    Liked
    3 times

Lost Stereo Channel

I don't know if anybody has experienced this (a quick check in the forum didn't turn up anything)

My N-7 has lost the left audio channel when I use the earphone jack. It has come back for just a second or two over the past couple weeks where it just cut back in for several seconds or even a couple minutes, and then dropped back out. It doesn't seem like it's a jack/mechanical issue - I've had lots of experience with that sort of thing in radios and other electronics, so I know what that's all about. Is there some app/tool that can do a channel diagnostic? Has anything like this ever been reported here before?

Thanks - Mark

Member #
    Liked
    115 times
    Are you certain the problem lies with the N7? I've had the problem you describe, not with the N7 however, and twice I traced it to a single broken wire within the cable on the failed side of the earphones.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Skydog View Post
    Are you certain the problem lies with the N7? I've had the problem you describe, not with the N7 however, and twice I traced it to a single broken wire within the cable on the failed side of the earphones.
    As certain as I can be. Two sets of phones do the same thing and both work in stereo on other equipment.

Member #
    Liked
    115 times
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkVonShief View Post
    As certain as I can be. Two sets of phones do the same thing and both work in stereo on other equipment.
    That's disappointing. I would have to come to the same conclusion as you have.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Now this is really weird - I was watching a Rocketboom episode last night with the headphones on and said to myself, "Self, I do believe that I'm hearing both sides of this..."

So for some reason, the missing channel is back after two weeks gone.